Dynamic Views: Flipcard | Mosaic | Sidebar | Snapshot | Timeslide

Sunday, January 20, 2008

Join in Interactive Discussions with TalkShoe

TalkShoe LogoJust completed my first TalkShoe session yesterday, with Mike Temple, and was impressed with this new Web 2.0 tool. Essentially, TalkShoe is a "service that enables anyone to easily create, join, or listen to live interactive discussions, conversations, podcasts and audioblogs".

The recorded calls are available immediately after recording stops and can be listened to, downloaded, or subscribed to.

Once you have registered you can start listening in on any of the live calls straight away. But, in order to join in the conversation you first need to install the TalkShoe software. Once this is done, you can easily join in the conversation by using your computer (microphone and speakers) or your phone.

It seems like a very easy way to introduce students to podcasting, since all the technical stuff is done behind the scenes! For the more advanced students, the resulting podcast can be downloaded and edited in Audacity. I think TalkShoe also has great potential for use with language classes and will also appeal to any budding talk show hosts!

At present there are over 300 shows listed in education and over 650 in technology. Something for everyone?

Mike will be broadcasting again next Saturday evening at 8pm GMT (3pm EST, 12midday PST and Sunday 7am down under in Melbourne!!) with a view to discussing the edublogs platform and web 2.0 tools. Everyone is welcome to join in. :)




Technorati Tags: , , , ,


0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...